SpyWare BeWare! ASAP
March 28, 2017, 05:04:21 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Donations Login Register Chat  



Google It!
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Wireless Internet Help  (Read 2775 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
BlazeTitan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Date Registered:February 22, 2007, 04:39:34 PM
Posts: 1


« on: February 22, 2007, 04:44:33 PM »

I have a wireless internet at home and all the comps work fine accept for my Laptop whenever i log on it says that it has connected to the access point but it cant connect to the internet angry  which does not allow me to acess it

can any1 help me with this problem im posting this from one of my normal comps
Logged
The_KiD
ASAP VIP
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Date Registered:April 20, 2005, 07:31:34 AM
Posts: 153



WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2008, 03:41:33 AM »

I sometimes have problems like this myself and it can be down to DNS.

Here's what to try and do!

On the machine that works do, click START > RUN > cmd > OK > ipconfig > [ENTER]

You will get a list of info "like" this (not identical):

Quote
Windows IP Configuration

Ethernet adapter LAN:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : xxx
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.10.62
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.254.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.10.9

Note the default gateway address.

On the laptop that doesn't work do the same and the part that says IP address should be identical to the working machine apart from the last set of digits.

If not then your laptop is not picking up an IP address and may be set to static IP not DHCP (see DHCP settings below if this is the case)

If all is ok with the IP address then in the black window that you typed ipconfig in type this ping <insert default gateway address> and you should get a reply similar to:

Quote
Pinging 10.0.10.9 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 10.0.10.9: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=255

If you get a request timed out again see the DHCP Settings below.

If however you got a similar response, type this in to black screen ping www.google.com and you should get a response similar to the one above.

If not then you have a DNS issue and what you need to do is find out the DNS address for whoever you ISP is (AOL, Tiscali etc) you can do this by ringing them or searching google for your ISP name followed by DNS address.

To use these addresses see below for DHCP settings.

DHCP Settings

To set you machine to use DHCP instead of static right click on My Network Places, select properties, then right click on your wireless connection and again select properties.

In the screen that comes up find the line in the white box that says "Internet Protocol TCP/IP" and double click on it.

Now check the box that says "Obtain an IP address automatically"

If you were having DNS issues then towards the bottom of the screen select "Use the following DNS server addresses" and input the DNS IP addresses you got from your ISP.


I hope this helps and happy surfing.
Logged

- KiD

---------------------------------------
www.techmonkeys.co.uk / Free PC Support Forum
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!